Six Departmental Climate Change Plans

E3, in association with CAEM and the Colombian Ministry of the Environment and Sustainable Development, has formulated six integral climate change plans for the Departments of Atlántico, Magdalena, Cesar, Santander, Quindío and Cauca, in Colombia. These six plans promote the incorporation of climate change as a cross-cutting issue for regional development and land-use planning. The Plans also reflect participative agreements on concrete short, medium and long term actions and measures, thus converting the climate change challenge into an opportunity to improve the population wellbeing, the sustainability and competitiveness of each Department. A Climate Change Committee that gathers strategic local stakeholders was created in each department to support this process at local level, to build the Plans and define strategic actions. The six departmental climate change plans are now being implemented.